The Man Nobody Knows

While reading a biography of Maxwell Perkins today, I ran across the tidbit that Perkins had been offered the manuscript of The Man Nobody Knows by advertising executive Bruce Barton, but it was rejected by Scribners after presentation by Perkins. The premise of the 1925 book is that Christ (the Man of the title) was the founder of modern business and sales principles, and demonstrated those through his method of selection of the apostles, his example, etc. Barton’s book has fallen into relative obscurity now, I suppose. When I discovered it (probably the late 60s) it was then fairly obscure as well, but it was profoundly invigorating to me (a teenager in a Pentecostal Holiness church) by presenting Christ as a fully rounded person, and not the two dimensional character portrayed in Bible story illustrations. Whether or not Barton’s observations hold up, I don’t know. It’s been a long, long time since I read it. But seeing the title mentioned again is like having a flash of recollection of an old friend that has been hidden behind the mists of memory.

This entry was posted in Books, Business, Christianity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Man Nobody Knows

  1. Donnie says:

    I believe I found a digital copy of this classic on Google books (which means it’s free).

    I haven’t read it yet, but I hear that it’s outstanding.

    Putting Jesus in business categories (Like Jesus, CEO and other such works) always makes me nervous, but I’m excited about this one.

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

